Nicholas Cummins
Bracken County High School

Tracy Shoulders
Meade County High School

Chloe Stivers
Eminence High School

Emma Corder
North Hardin High School

2021 KAPT Educational Scholarship Recipients



Scholarship Information

This $1,000 education scholarship award will be awarded to two (2) students entering college  each school year. Applicants must be a public school student who will attend a certified college,  university, or technical school. The scholarship award is made directly to the postsecondary  school selected by the awarded student and must be used in support of the student's 2022-2023 school year tuition, books or fees.

The student must have a parent/guardian actively employed in the public school pupil  transportation field.

The student must have at least a 3.0 (B) scholastic average, must have graduated from a  Kentucky public high school, and must be attending a postsecondary educational institution in  2022.

The KAPT Selection Committee will select the four recipients, and the President of the  Kentucky Association of Pupil Transportation or designee will notify them no later than  June 1, 2022.

Official presentation of the scholarship will take place at the 2022 KAPT Summer Conference in Bowling Green, Kentucky. Recipients are encouraged to attend, but do not  have to be present for the formal presentation.

Scholarship winners must inform their postsecondary educational institution to send proof of  enrollment to the KAPT Treasurer before payment can be made directly to the institution.

Application Information

Application forms are available from each local transportation office by March 1, 2022 or  may be downloaded from the KAPT web site at

The application must be typed and contain all information requested. Incomplete applications  will not be considered

Completed applications along with required documentation and a typewritten essay should be  submitted to the local supervisor/director of pupil transportation and be postmarked or hand  delivered no later than May 1, 2022.



The Southeastern States Pupil Transportation Conference (SESPTC), comprised of fourteen member states (Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia) will grant a $2,000 Buster Bynum Education Scholarship in 2022. Named in honor of R. A. “Buster” Bynum, retired Director of the Virginia Department of Education’s pupil transportation office and former SESPTCtreasurer, this one-time $2,000 education scholarship is made available to one deserving public school student in each of the fourteen-member southeastern states. Qualifications The parent/guardian listed on application had a Gross Taxable Family Income equal to or less than $80,000 for each of the “Past Three Tax Years.” (For the purpose of this scholarship award, the “Past Three Tax Years” is defined as the 2019, 2020 and 2021 tax years.) The parent/guardian listed on application has been an active employee in public school transportation during the “Past Three Years.” This includes school bus drivers, aides, monitors, mechanics, parts clerks, foremen, managers, trainers, supervisors, directors, and inspectors that work in public education. (For the purpose of this scholarship award, the “Past Three Years” work history requirement is defined as the period since January 1, 2019.) The student applicant has at least a 3.0 (B) scholastic average, will graduate from a public high school, and will attend a post-secondary educational institution starting in 2022. The scholarship cannot be awarded to any student who has a family member serving on the selection committee. 

The Kentucky Association for Pupil Transportation